Lens extensions

Discuss any lens that will fit Nikon DSLR's.
Jojochinoise

Lens extensions

Post by Jojochinoise »

:D Hello there!,
My name is Jo, I am a newbie here. I have a question about lens on Nikon D40. I will be receiving my new Nikon D40 shortly. I am very excited and can't wait to start taking pictures. I bought it with the lens kit, which is a 55mm. My husband suggest a telephoto lens that attaches to the AF lens. I feel that it may not work since the lens kit works with auto. Will it work or would that be a waist of time and money. From what I understand only lenses made for D40 are specific. Any help here?
Don't want to buy lens that wont work.
Jo :?
BTW. Thank you for putting up this site, sounds like a great start.

JohnSR

Re: Lens extensions

Post by JohnSR »

Welcome Jo. Don't know if I can answer your question but sure Jon will be able to help you. I thought all Nikon DSLRs used the same lens mount but it could be the D40 is different. I do know the D100/D200?D300 and D3 all use the same mount.

Are you asking about adding an attachment to the present lens to make it into a Telephoto? I know we use attachments for closeups so if that is what you are planning, it may work. Think the best thing is just to take the camera down to a photo shop and see if it works.
Three Scores and 14 years old and still going strong.

jon.oman

Post by jon.oman »

Jojochinoise wrote::D Hello there!,
My name is Jo, I am a newbie here. I have a question about lens on Nikon D40. I will be receiving my new Nikon D40 shortly. I am very excited and can't wait to start taking pictures. I bought it with the lens kit, which is a 55mm. My husband suggest a telephoto lens that attaches to the AF lens. I feel that it may not work since the lens kit works with auto. Will it work or would that be a waist of time and money. From what I understand only lenses made for D40 are specific. Any help here?
Don't want to buy lens that wont work.